Which water based paint is best for Bannisters?

Discussion in 'Painters' Talk' started by Don1, Jan 18, 2022.

1. Don1

Don1 New Member

Good evening, Im a DIY newbie & like painting and am trying to do my bannisters and skirting. Been looking for a few days which top coat to use Bedec Aqua Advance keeps coming up time and time again as the 'one' but the forum was from quite a few years ago. is it easy to paint with and what paint would you use, Do I need a special paint brush? Is there a certain way to paint to ensure good finish?

Thanks in advance

2. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

Prime bare wood. Treat knots.
    Follow application data sheet for the paint.
    So many different paints you just need to pick one.

3. Astramax

Astramax Super Member

If the wood is not bare and has a previously varnished finish it will require a coat of Zinsser BIN high adhesion primer to aid adhesion of the new paint over the varnish. BIN is available in an aerosol can for ease of application, after you can apply an undercoat and two top coats of your chosen eaterbase paint colour using a synthetic brush.

4. Bob256

Bob256 Active Member

I am planning to redo my banister with Johnstone's Aqua Guard. Currently painted with Dulux water-based satin. This has had poor durability in areas that come into frequent contact with hands.

5. Wayners

Wayners Screwfix Select

Water based alkyd are said to be the best for hands

6. Don1

Don1 New Member

Thank you all for your advice, it was varnished, lumpy and peeling was in a right state so rubbed back down to wood..I think I will try johnstone aquaguard instead. Do I have to use their undercoat too? I'm ashamed to admit I was recommended no nonsense undercoat & primer and was using that on skirting with johnstone interior wood &metal quick dry, but it dried too quickly and doesn't look as I want it to!:p P_20220119_143935.jpg

Wagner's excuse my ignorance but what is water based alkyd.

7. Astramax

Astramax Super Member